Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
 Pages:  1  2
Author: Subject: Help! Harness/ECU/Everything issues getting this running ...
AlbertaBeef
Junior TO Member
***




Posts: 211
Registered: 17-10-2006
Location: Airdrie, Alberta
Member Is Offline

Mood: Time for upgrades!

icon_help.gif posted on 28-4-2017 at 04:25 PM
Help! Harness/ECU/Everything issues getting this running ...


So long story short, my oldest son was going to get this car going, and then ... didn't. So it sat unfinished in my garage.

The youngest son and I are trying to get it going now and we've got issues.

1st Issue:
The injectors want to stay open/on the entire time. Full blast. Too much fuel, can't get it to start when trying to crank.

Any suggestions?

2nd Issue:
I've found the TPS connector on the harness is the wrong connector for my engine ... any idea where I can obtain the correct one?

I'm gonna head out and take some pics to attach ...

[Edited on 28-4-2017 by AlbertaBeef]
View user's profile View All Posts By User
AlbertaBeef
Junior TO Member
***




Posts: 211
Registered: 17-10-2006
Location: Airdrie, Alberta
Member Is Offline

Mood: Time for upgrades!

[*] posted on 28-4-2017 at 05:06 PM


O Gawd. It's worse than I thought.

I *wish* I'd had the time/energy/brain-power to really look at this when I got the engine in the bay ...

Too many problems to count.

1st problem ... And not being a huge car guy (and being on lots of prescription narcotics when the swap was being done) I never noticed this ... but the ECU on here is the original 3E-E unit. Not the 4E FTE ecu. GAAAAAAAH.

And yes - if you're wondering - the harness is plugged into the 3E-E ecu. And no, I never noticed.

Are the connectors going to the 3E-E and the 4E-FTE the same?

If they're the same connection interface, then somehow the EP82 4E-FTE ECU went missing and I need to source one. If they are different, then not only did my 4E-FTE ECU go missing, but maybe BYP screwed up the harness BAD when they made it ... (Nope, turns out they did NOT.)

I'm starting to think it might be easier to get an original EP82 harness plus a standalone engine management system. What do y'all think?

Thoughts? Ideas?

[Edited on 1-5-2017 by AlbertaBeef]
View user's profile View All Posts By User
AlbertaBeef
Junior TO Member
***




Posts: 211
Registered: 17-10-2006
Location: Airdrie, Alberta
Member Is Offline

Mood: Time for upgrades!

[*] posted on 28-4-2017 at 05:13 PM


Oh, BTW if you're wondering how all this happened, and why it's been 10 years since the engine was put in and me actually trying to get the engine turned over ...

I suffered a spinal injury when I was younger and complications from it flared up REALLY bad about the time I was looking at the swap. being crazy I went ahead anyway, even though I couldn't do any of the work.

The complications got so bad I ended up on disability leave from work for several years and neither had the physical/mental capability to do the work, nor the finances - because disability leave income sucks. :)

I thought about selling, but left it in the garage in the hopes I could get better and finish it.

A few years went by and my oldest son was going to take the project over ... but decided he wasn't as enthused about the idea as I'd hoped, and didn't continue.

It sat a few more years and now my youngest son wants to get it going. So here we are. I'm in a little better physical shape, not confined to a wheelchair yet and off the narcotics altogether. (Yay). But my ability to bend over and do physical labor is limited. I've got a mechanic looking at it and he's shown me all the bad news currently.

The shop that put the swap into the bay either caused some of the problems (ECU mixup if the connectors are the same) or didn't notice. And it's been 10 years since that was done, so it's lame to try to go back to them for any resolution.

Hopefully y'all can chime in with some options and help...
View user's profile View All Posts By User
AlbertaBeef
Junior TO Member
***




Posts: 211
Registered: 17-10-2006
Location: Airdrie, Alberta
Member Is Offline

Mood: Time for upgrades!

icon_pix.gif posted on 28-4-2017 at 05:31 PM
http://i205.photobucket.com/albums/bb54/AlbertaBeefy/PICT0098.jpg


Here's the TPS connector from the harness:




Here's the end on the engine though. :dunno:




Damned 3E-E ecu ... How did I never notice???




This light stayed lit crazy bright, so we knew something was up ...




BTW it's a beautiful car and I'd love to have this working ... This is it, the medium blue on the right.



[Edited on 5/1/2017 by alfradio]
View user's profile View All Posts By User
AlbertaBeef
Junior TO Member
***




Posts: 211
Registered: 17-10-2006
Location: Airdrie, Alberta
Member Is Offline

Mood: Time for upgrades!

[*] posted on 28-4-2017 at 06:03 PM


OK, so after doing some looking at ECU's it appears that the ECU's for both share the same 26/16 pin connector configuration.

So I'm *REALLY* hoping that somewhere along the way someone simply missed switching the new ECU in place of the old one.

I'm guessing something like this...

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/Toyota-Starlet-GT-Turbo-EP82-4E-FTE-92-96-EC...

... would probably do the trick, and let me test my theory, correct?
View user's profile View All Posts By User
AlbertaBeef
Junior TO Member
***




Posts: 211
Registered: 17-10-2006
Location: Airdrie, Alberta
Member Is Offline

Mood: Time for upgrades!

[*] posted on 30-4-2017 at 10:31 PM


Le bump. Anyone know if that ECU will work, or anyone have one for sale?
View user's profile View All Posts By User
alfradio
TO Patron & MVP
******


Avatar


Posts: 3017
Registered: 26-7-2003
Location: Laurel, MD
Member Is Offline

Mood: Indigo

[*] posted on 1-5-2017 at 04:20 AM


Quote: Originally posted by AlbertaBeef  


Le bump. Anyone know if that ECU will work, or anyone have
one for sale?


I'd assume you absolutely need a 4EFTE computer to manage
the requirements of the 4EFTE engine!!!

If you've compared the pin outs of the 3E and 4E ECUs and
they go to the same places on both cars (ie: provide paths to
the same systems) then I'd say a resound YES, it will work.

Would strongly hope that GT_REVVA sees this post as he is the
engine harness guy on this board and at the very LEAST can
tell you what problems you may run into.... He does provide
engine harnesses for swaps for around $300 but you may find
a used one here, on TO.COM for less...

Good luck!!!


alf :waving:




View user's profile View All Posts By User
GT_REVVA
TO Showoff
******




Posts: 6051
Registered: 3-8-2002
Location: Mecca, EDEN
Member Is Offline

Mood: when you KNOW you're smarter than someone, don't be afraid to LET THEM KNOW. -my Mom..smartest person I know :deal:

[*] posted on 1-5-2017 at 04:22 PM


Well I'm going to go out on a very STRONG limb and say BYP didn't screw up ANY harness

I made all the 4E harnesses for BYP so I GUARANTEE no mistakes there

ALL harnesses are made from harnesses provided BY THE CUSTOMER....Which means what you have on your engine there is a product of the harness you sent me from your car as well as whatever you got with your motor

Now before you go shooting from the hip, you did say you were on lots of prescription narcotics, so take that factor into consideration

No a 3EE ECU will NOT operate a 4EFTE motor, no matter if they both have 26/16 pin outlets :doh:

Buy a 4efte ECU





he who knows and, knows he knows...he is a wise man , seek him
he who knows and, knows not he knows....he is asleep, wake him
he who knows not and, knows he knows not...he is a child, teach him
he who knows not and, knows not he knows not...he is a fool, shun him
Mulberry:The car is reliable, it has made at least 100 passes on the dyno and it has passed the GT_REVVA test
sleepyrz:yea and if he cant get it to break you sure as hell cant

krussure of nubz dreemz Ultrasound Baby Driving
DivisionOne Article Autoblog RR articleFACT THREAD TO Members' Modded Rides TO HORSEPOWER LEADER BOARD
VISIT MY STORE
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
alfradio
TO Patron & MVP
******


Avatar


Posts: 3017
Registered: 26-7-2003
Location: Laurel, MD
Member Is Offline

Mood: Indigo

[*] posted on 1-5-2017 at 04:44 PM


Any chance you could get a REAL GOOD photo of the turbo that
came with YOUR 4EFTE engine???


Reason I ask is, because there are TWO variants of the 4EFTE
engine....

The EP82, uses a 2 plug ECU and the other,
The EP91, uses a 3 plug ECU

A friend of mine who's infinitely more knowledgeable about
these engines than I, called me today and told me to post the
following on your thread (he would have done it himself but,
hasn't been on here in a while and has forgotten his password
etc.):

From what he's been able to see from your photos, he believes,
you have the 4EFTE harness!

... also, the TPS for NON-turbo engines have 4 wires but, the
connector you're holding, has 3 wires, which only came with
the turbo engines.

Once you find out which engine/harness is in your car
(EP82 or EP91) you will then have to get the proper ECU

Good luck!!

alf :waving:




View user's profile View All Posts By User
alfradio
TO Patron & MVP
******


Avatar


Posts: 3017
Registered: 26-7-2003
Location: Laurel, MD
Member Is Offline

Mood: Indigo

[*] posted on 1-5-2017 at 04:56 PM


Here's the ECU that came with my 4EFTE engine back in the day...
it was from the EP91 engine, hence, 3 plugs





View user's profile View All Posts By User
AlbertaBeef
Junior TO Member
***




Posts: 211
Registered: 17-10-2006
Location: Airdrie, Alberta
Member Is Offline

Mood: Time for upgrades!

[*] posted on 1-5-2017 at 04:58 PM


GTRevva - Thanks for the response ... FYI, the ONLY oddity on the harness that I can really see was that TPS connector. Everything else mated up well to the engine and the workmanship seems great.

I'm pretty sure the issues came with the shop that originally put the engine swap in 10 yrs ago messing up and NOT putting in the right ECU. 10 years later, that proper ECU is gone, unfortunately, so I'm scrounging ...

Unless someone in North America has an ECU they can sell me, I'm getting one from the guy in the UK on eBay. Would rather save a day or two and get it from N.America if anyone has one, though.

Alf- I'll go see if I can get some images ASAP for you, but I'm fairly certain it's the EP82 variant of the manual 4E-FTE, which always used the 26/16 configuration from all the research I've done.

From what I can tell, either a 89661-10040 or 89661-10100 part# should work.

[Edited on 1-5-2017 by AlbertaBeef]
View user's profile View All Posts By User
AlbertaBeef
Junior TO Member
***




Posts: 211
Registered: 17-10-2006
Location: Airdrie, Alberta
Member Is Offline

Mood: Time for upgrades!

[*] posted on 1-5-2017 at 05:04 PM


Quote: Originally posted by alfradio  
Here's the ECU that came with my 4EFTE engine back in the day...
it was from the EP91 engine, hence, 3 plugs


EP82 also used 3 plugs - but ONLY for the A/T version. Like I said, fairly certain mine is the EP82 but will be getting some more pics in just a few.

BRB ...

[Edited on 5/2/2017 by alfradio]
View user's profile View All Posts By User
alfradio
TO Patron & MVP
******


Avatar


Posts: 3017
Registered: 26-7-2003
Location: Laurel, MD
Member Is Offline

Mood: Indigo

[*] posted on 1-5-2017 at 05:59 PM


Seems like you're doing your 'homework' so, I'd defer to you as
being pretty certain it is an EP82 you have but, just to satisfy
my curiosity...

alf :waving:





View user's profile View All Posts By User
AlbertaBeef
Junior TO Member
***




Posts: 211
Registered: 17-10-2006
Location: Airdrie, Alberta
Member Is Offline

Mood: Time for upgrades!

[*] posted on 1-5-2017 at 05:59 PM


So, here's another pic of the engine ... not that this'll help identify anything. Don't judge the current state, there was confusion until we figured out the ECU was wrong:




Yo GTRevva - if you're still reading this - here's a better shot of some of the harness - which looks like a labor-intensive (and tape-intensive) nightmare to put together. I don't know how you could do this and not go crazy. I know if I had to do something like that I'd be a crazy man. Well, crazi-ER.

And yes, I purposely chose the red TRD sparkplug kit as it matched the harness/loom.




Unfortunately the car is currently OUT of the shop until I get an ECU, and there was no hoist available to lift it up on for pics. These are the best I can do... Somewhere down there is a turbo ... (helpful pic, I know. :dunno:)




Here's from the front end ... mostly it's two pictures of the wastegate actuator ...




Here's from underneath ... again, really not helpful. :(




Oh, and before I forget ... anyone know what plugs into this green thing? (upper-left)




Thanks for all the help so-far!!

[Edited on 5/2/2017 by alfradio]
View user's profile View All Posts By User
alfradio
TO Patron & MVP
******


Avatar


Posts: 3017
Registered: 26-7-2003
Location: Laurel, MD
Member Is Offline

Mood: Indigo

[*] posted on 1-5-2017 at 06:24 PM


CHECK YOUR U2Us!!!!



View user's profile View All Posts By User
 Pages:  1  2

  Go To Top

Powered by XMB 1.9.11
XMB Forum Software © 2001-2010 The XMB Group