Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: 5efe engine trans to 3efe engine
t3rc3l
TO Newbie
*


Avatar


Posts: 6
Registered: 24-1-2017
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 24-1-2017 at 07:54 AM
5efe engine trans to 3efe engine


Hi. I mount a 4-speed aut trans from a 5efe engine to a 1991 3efe engine. I'm having problems with the electrical connections to make it work properly. Before installing a couple of people told me it was an easy swap, just connect to the current the "overdrive" to make the gears change. Now it appears I have to buy electrical wiring and the 5th gen computer to replace. Please, who has done this and how? Thanks.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Daox
TO Crew
******


Avatar


Posts: 2614
Registered: 11-7-2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood.

[*] posted on 24-1-2017 at 08:33 AM


The 4th gen (91-94) Tercels came with a 3 speed automatic that was not computer controlled. The 5th gen (95-99) came with the same 3 speed auto, or optional 4 speed automatic. All Paseos came with the 4 speed automatic (if they were automatics). The 4 speed automatic is electronically controlled and thus will require an ECU. I'm not sure how you would do that considering the 3E-E never came with the 4 speed automatic. You may be able to use an automatic ECU from a 1st gen Paseo (92-95). But, it will require some wiring to be done. A 2nd gen Paseo or 5th gen Tercel ECU will not work for you as its a fairly different engine.

[Edited on 24-1-2017 by Daox]




View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User This user has MSN Messenger
mycars12
Junior TO Member
***


Avatar


Posts: 397
Registered: 8-11-2014
Location: Orlando, Fl
Member Is Offline

Mood: "do it right or do it twice" –GT_REVVA

[*] posted on 24-1-2017 at 11:49 AM


4AT in tercels are not electronically controlled. By default it is in the 4 gear mode but if you install a switch you can activate overdrive.
I had a 3 speed auto in my 96 tercel and converted it to 4speed auto. The rear mount bracket and the trans mount under the battery are different. It hooks right up with no problem. You probably ended up getting a a242e instead of a a242l.

[Edited on 24-1-2017 by mycars12]
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Daox
TO Crew
******


Avatar


Posts: 2614
Registered: 11-7-2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood.

[*] posted on 24-1-2017 at 01:29 PM


So the 4 speed in the Tercel (A242L & A242C) isn't computer controlled, but the one in the Paseo (A244E) is?

If its not electronically controlled why would you need a switch?

[Edited on 24-1-2017 by Daox]




View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User This user has MSN Messenger
mycars12
Junior TO Member
***


Avatar


Posts: 397
Registered: 8-11-2014
Location: Orlando, Fl
Member Is Offline

Mood: "do it right or do it twice" –GT_REVVA

[*] posted on 24-1-2017 at 09:15 PM


Im using mine without the OD switch and it shifts into the 4th gear. I believe the OD switch keeps it in 3 gear mode?
Im not sure but I might experiment with it one day. But yes the paseos only got the electronically controlled and the tercels got the manual ones.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Daox
TO Crew
******


Avatar


Posts: 2614
Registered: 11-7-2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood.

[*] posted on 24-1-2017 at 11:07 PM


Do you know what the main difference ire between the electronically controlled 4 speed and the mechanical 4 speed besides the ratios?



View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User This user has MSN Messenger
t3rc3l
TO Newbie
*


Avatar


Posts: 6
Registered: 24-1-2017
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 26-1-2017 at 06:29 AM


I believe the trans installed its from paseo but, how can I now for sure?
View user's profile View All Posts By User
t3rc3l
TO Newbie
*


Avatar


Posts: 6
Registered: 24-1-2017
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 26-1-2017 at 08:10 AM


the electronic trans has a plug to connect the ecu, the mechanical don't but, where and how is that plug to check if mine has or hasn't it. or where is the id plate that identifies the trans?
View user's profile View All Posts By User

  Go To Top

Powered by XMB 1.9.11
XMB Forum Software © 2001-2010 The XMB Group