Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
 Pages:  1    3    5  ..  15
Author: Subject: 3E Head On 5E Block..It Works..~11.5:1 Compression
Tercel5efe93
Banned





Posts: 2660
Registered: 16-11-2004
Member Is Offline

Mood: Decepticon Bots shall rise again

[*] posted on 17-7-2009 at 03:56 AM


It will be interesting that's for sure.
You weren't the first to ask. But, in the 8-9 years I have been lurking around here have to say you would be the first to attempt.

I hope it works for you that will be a break through for all the 3ee owners.

View user's profile View All Posts By User
SlammedSix
Senior TO Member
****


Avatar


Posts: 564
Registered: 10-9-2008
Location: Ventura, CA
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 17-7-2009 at 04:22 AM


Here is a side question for you. Does ARP make a set of headstuds for the Paseo or Tercel, I've searched, no luck?

I live like 10 min from them, and am planning on taking a head stud down to see if they can make a stud set, Cause i am interested in studding the block.




View user's profile View All Posts By User
Dzaster
TO Patron
*******


Avatar


Posts: 5583
Registered: 1-10-2007
Location: Kailua Kona, HI
Member Is Offline

Mood: Bwoop......... Bwooooooooooooop ..........Bwooooop

[*] posted on 17-7-2009 at 11:29 AM


They don't. The guys that use them, tap the block and use teh 4a headbolts from ARP.

You wanna be a part of something cool check out Riko666's little helper.

http://board.tercelonline.com/viewthread.php?tid=39301




View user's profile View All Posts By User This user has MSN Messenger
SlammedSix
Senior TO Member
****


Avatar


Posts: 564
Registered: 10-9-2008
Location: Ventura, CA
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 17-7-2009 at 07:45 PM


I can just walk over to ARP and get a set made for cheaper, and on the spot. Thanks though:thumbup:



View user's profile View All Posts By User
Tercel GTS
TO Crew
******


Avatar


Posts: 4643
Registered: 25-7-2003
Location: bangin' yer sister
Member Is Offline

Mood: my MR2 sucks

[*] posted on 17-7-2009 at 07:56 PM


ugabuga put a 5e head on a 3ee in the day, look it up.

[Edited on 18-7-2009 by Tercel GTS]




スターレット
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Tercel5efe93
Banned





Posts: 2660
Registered: 16-11-2004
Member Is Offline

Mood: Decepticon Bots shall rise again

[*] posted on 17-7-2009 at 08:55 PM


By the way if this guy does pull this off it will be a big break through on how to modify a 3ee.

I was negative at first but have done some research and found that it may just work.
but my gut feeling say's it won't the valve clearance will be the main issue on this matter.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
SlammedSix
Senior TO Member
****


Avatar


Posts: 564
Registered: 10-9-2008
Location: Ventura, CA
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 18-7-2009 at 07:58 AM


I just got off work, so i will get some sleep and then head to work on the swap.

4speed- I am hoping the valves don't hit, but they may. But have you ever seen a cometic headgasket? I remember my friend putting one on his Civic B16 and it was like almost 1/4" thick. :rotf: But we also used cometics on some supercharged corvettes at a shop i used to work at.

I was thinking IF the valves hit, what if i just doubled the gasket?




View user's profile View All Posts By User
Tercel5efe93
Banned





Posts: 2660
Registered: 16-11-2004
Member Is Offline

Mood: Decepticon Bots shall rise again

[*] posted on 18-7-2009 at 12:55 PM


I don't know about double gasket but their are 1.2 mm hg to 1.8 mm hg for the starlet to lower compression.
Witch is a little to way thicker than the original 3ee one.

found here------> http://speedvisioncps.com/

The 1.8mm hg is prolly the one I would use. If i had this type of operation going on.



[Edited on 18-7-2009 by 4speedsleeper]
View user's profile View All Posts By User
SlammedSix
Senior TO Member
****


Avatar


Posts: 564
Registered: 10-9-2008
Location: Ventura, CA
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 19-7-2009 at 12:08 AM


OK, I did all the testing out of the car. So any info has not been tested in a running condition.

Good News!!
- It went together smoothly and does not have any issues with the timing belt set to proper timing. I only spun it by hand and used the old headgasket that came off the 5E (I didn't wanna waste a new one for testing). The motor requires the use of a 5E timing belt. I could not get the 3E timing belt over everything, Are they different in size? I also had a flashlight shining through the spark plug hole and with the timing set correctly the piston does not even come close the the valves in normal operation.

Bad News!!
-The motor is most definately a Interference engine. If the timing belt ever breaks you can kiss the Exhaust valve bye-bye. It barely touches the intake valves but still spun by hand past it (with piston TDC, Valves fully open) but the exhaust valve stops the spinning by hand dead in its tracks. So its definately an Interference.

Some side info, Does anyone have the cc of the 3E combustion chamber, Cause I can tell by looking at the motor that its gonna be a very very high compression ratio.:oops:

So I am gonna pull it all back apart and put a new headgasket and other gaskets to get it ready to go in my Tercel. Which is the thickest OEM headgasket that I can buy at a local autozone, 5E (1st gen), 5E (2nd gen) or 3E? Thanks 4speed for that site, I just don't wanna spend $275 for a headgasket unless i have to.




View user's profile View All Posts By User
Dzaster
TO Patron
*******


Avatar


Posts: 5583
Registered: 1-10-2007
Location: Kailua Kona, HI
Member Is Offline

Mood: Bwoop......... Bwooooooooooooop ..........Bwooooop

[*] posted on 19-7-2009 at 12:30 AM


1st gen 5e HG is thickest stock.



View user's profile View All Posts By User This user has MSN Messenger
SlammedSix
Senior TO Member
****


Avatar


Posts: 564
Registered: 10-9-2008
Location: Ventura, CA
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 19-7-2009 at 01:19 AM


Thanks, I've got some more searchin to do on making this motor as safe as possible

[Edited on 19-7-2009 by SlammedSix]




View user's profile View All Posts By User
Tercel5efe93
Banned





Posts: 2660
Registered: 16-11-2004
Member Is Offline

Mood: Decepticon Bots shall rise again

[*] posted on 19-7-2009 at 06:00 AM


OK the 5e timing belt is the same as a 3ee that is not an issue.he compression ratio should be on the last of your worry list.
You said the valves clear but then you turned and said it makes it an interference engine.

If not the exhaust vales then it must be the intake valves?

prolly by the thousandths any how it would cost more money to make this happen than it worth ?
is that what you are saying?




[Edited on 12-9-2009 by 4speedsleeper]
View user's profile View All Posts By User
SlammedSix
Senior TO Member
****


Avatar


Posts: 564
Registered: 10-9-2008
Location: Ventura, CA
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 19-7-2009 at 11:01 AM


I put the 2 timing belts next to eachother and they looked to be the same, So i just thought maybe it was a couple teeth different, and i really didn't feel like counting the teeth to see if it was any longer. LOL

But no the motor will be a normal functioning motor, just turns into a Interference motor and will have a compression ratio of approx 10.5:1~




View user's profile View All Posts By User
Tercel5efe93
Banned





Posts: 2660
Registered: 16-11-2004
Member Is Offline

Mood: Decepticon Bots shall rise again

[*] posted on 19-7-2009 at 12:57 PM


That sounds nuts how did you figure the cr ratio?

On the belt thing the part numbers are the same thats how I figured that part out.

I can see how in my mind as i'm thinking about all the extra material the 5e pistons have over the 3ee becaus of the dish factor.
But neve though it would end up like that very interesting!!
View user's profile View All Posts By User
SlammedSix
Senior TO Member
****


Avatar


Posts: 564
Registered: 10-9-2008
Location: Ventura, CA
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 20-7-2009 at 02:09 AM


Quote:
That sounds nuts how did you figure the cr ratio?

On the belt thing the part numbers are the same thats how I figured that part out.

I can see how in my mind as i'm thinking about all the extra material the 5e pistons have over the 3ee becaus of the dish factor.
But neve though it would end up like that very interesting!!

Well i used an online CR calculator with the 5EFE specs, and just changed the combustion chamber CC with the 3EE specs. Looking through the spark plug hole when the piston comes up...it really comes up close lol..:yikes:




View user's profile View All Posts By User
 Pages:  1    3    5  ..  15

  Go To Top

Powered by XMB 1.9.11
XMB Forum Software © 2001-2010 The XMB Group